Posted by: Natasha A. Morea | 02/15/2011

Mind Trick part 1

Morning came. I felt relieved that Aiden and I now had a way off of Kashyyyk. True, the ship wasn’t much to look at, but she would do. Stomachs full and spirits high, Aiden and I made our way to the landing platform. Shorcuk was already there, performing some last minute flight checks. He informed us that he had inquired about the last coordinates of my still missing ship. His sources had stated that my ship was headed for the planet, Taris.
We boarded our newly acquired vessel and prepared for takeoff. Shorcuk, as it turns out, was an excellent pilot and Aiden insisted that I let the Wookiee handle the flying. Since it was his father’s ship I agreed and made my way to a seat farther inside, next to a view port.
After we exited the atmosphere and the hyperspace coordinates had been entered into the navi-computer, Aiden joined me at my seat.
“Na’sha, since it will be a while before we reach our destination, why don’t you tell me a little bit about this Twi’lek girl, Sinka.”
I looked at Aiden, confused. “You already know her, she was with me when you and I first met.”
Aiden shook his head, giving me a worried expression. “No, Na’sha, there was no one with you, when you and I met. I certainly would have remembered a small Twi’lek child, had she been with you.”
I didn’t understand, how could Aiden not remember her? He leaned in close and put a hand on my arm. “Na’sha I want you to do something for me. I want you to relax and let me into your mind. Something doesn’t feel right to me and I would like to see for myself what it is that disturbs me so.”
I moved slightly away from him. I didn’t want him anywhere near my mind! My thoughts were personal and there were things in there that I would rather not share with him, especially the things that were about him!
He rubbed his hand down my arm reassuringly.
“I promise not to intrude anymore than I have to, but I really feel that this is necessary. It won’t hurt, I promise.”
I wasn’t sure that I believed him, but for as long as I had known him, Aiden had been a man of his word. I relaxed and nodded to let him know that I agreed.
“Just be quick about it, ok?”
I felt a small warmth begin to flow through my arm where he touched me. It spread and my body tingled. I closed my eyes and tried to relax, tried to think of when I had met Sinka.
“Stay calm, don’t think of anything, let the force flow through you, Na’sha.”
I took a deep breath and opened my mind to the force.
Suddenly, a sharp pain hit me, causing me to scream and breaking Aiden’s concentration. I placed both hands over my face, momentarily incapacitated, by the throbbing in my head. Aiden brought me a glass of water and sat beside me in silence, while I gathered my composure.
“Aiden, I thought you said it wouldn’t hurt! He placed his arms around my shivering body.
“It wasn’t suppose to hurt. Na’sha, I really don’t know how to say this, but your mind has been tampered with.”
I gazed at Aiden with a look of utter disbelief.
“Tampered with? Seriously, am I that weak-minded?”
 No, Na’sha, you are not weak. Even the strongest minded of people can be taken unaware.”
“But who, and when? I don’t understand.”
I wrapped my arms around myself and closed my eyes in frustration. Aiden continued with his findings.
“ I was unable to break past the barrier that was placed in your mind. Someone has gone to great lengths to keep your mind closed, to all who would seek the truth. I feel the taint of the dark side all around your memories. Rest and we must try again. We have to get to the bottom of this.”
I let out a deep sigh and nodded. I didn’t want to go through that again, but I knew he was right. I couldn’t imagine who could have done such a thing, or why. A knot formed in the pit of my stomach. The more I thought about it, the sicker I felt. I had originally thought that losing my ship, being left for dead and betrayed by my closest companions was about as bad as it could get, but I had a feeling it was about to get a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

Categories

