Posted by: Natasha A. Morea | 05/12/2012

Dantooine part 14

The cavern wall loomed before me in the dim lamp light, issuing it’s silent challenge.  There had to be another path, maybe I had missed something in the darkness.  I re-adjusted my still damp robes and tried to decide my next move.

Beep, Beep, Beep!  My personal holo communicator sounded unusually loud in the silence.

“Hello.”  I pushed the button. A small holo appeared.

“Dak, is something wrong?”

“No. I just wanted to see how things were going for you. Did I call at a bad time?”

I looked at the wall and back to Dak. “I have hit a wall.”

“Well, don’t worry, even though the Jedi didn’t give you much info, you will figure it out.”

“No, Dak, I mean I have literally hit a wall.”

“Oh. I see.”

“Yeah, I thought that everything was going great, now I don’t know what to do.”

“Back track.”

“No good.  This is the way. I don’t know how to explain it, it just feels right.”

“Want me to come blow a nice big hole in it for you?”

“Ha ha!  That would be super, but I have to do this alone and without explosives; come to think of it, you shouldn’t even be calling me. I don’t want to get in trouble with the council.”

“I am alone in my room, they don’t seem the types to bug a place. I am just worried about you, we all are.”

“Well there is nothing to worry about. I am fine and I am going to get this done. This isn’t my first mission or anything, I was on my own a long time before I met you, Vod.”

“True, but now that you have me and the others, there is no need for you to be alone.”

I couldn’t help but smile. ” I know, but just this once I need to. I have something to prove, not only to the Jedi, but to myself, now let me get back to it.”

“Ok, but if you aren’t back soon, we are coming for you.”

“I will be back before you know it.”

“Take care.”

“I will.”

With the communicator put away, I slowly backed away from the wall.  I sat down in the dirt and crossed my legs, attempting to clear my mind like Aiden had taught me, maybe then I could get past this.
I concentrated on the stones before me. I closed my eyes and reached out to them…nothing! Kark! Why did the Jedi send me here knowing that I am new to this Force thing? Padawans have the advantage of learning at an early age; I have no advantage!
I opened my eyes and studied the wall. Though the wall was solid, one area in particular seemed rougher. The rocks were large in shape and jutted out.  I closed my eyes once again and visualized the stones. Aiden had once told me that you can do anything with the Force, it is limitless.

I pictured each rock moving and sliding to the side. At first, nothing happened, but as I continued to give myself over to the Force, I heard the cracking, as the rock wall began to shake and separate. I tried to keep my mind focused. I was afraid that if I opened my eyes, the spell would be broken and the rocks would cease to move. I raised my hands together before me and gently, evenly, pushed them apart. the rocks fully separated and as I peeked from beneath my eyelids, I could see the once hidden tunnel before me.
“Ok. Now we are getting somewhere!”

I stood and walked through the door sized hole in the wall and into another tunnel.  I felt a breeze blow against my skin. There must be an opening up ahead. After a short walk, the breeze became stronger. I hurried toward the tunnel’s end. A faint light was peeping through the tunnels opening.  Daylight?  Had I been trying to get past the wall for that long? It had seemed like such a short time. I inched toward the hole and gazed out. I looked up and saw that it was really large room. The light was coming from some large glowing rocks growing from the ceiling, not from the sun. I glanced down, but couldn’t tell how far it was to the bottom. I dropped a stone and listened. I finally heard it hit the bottom with a thud. Ok, that was a long way down!

I wasn’t allowed to have any of my old gear and it was a shame; a jet pack would have been handy right about now. I heaved a sigh and hooked the glow lamp to my belt. The only way to get to where I was headed was to climb. Now, I am not a fan of climbing, they made jet packs, turbo lifts and even stairs to keep us from having to do that. As I turned and eased myself over the precipice, I slipped and squeezed my eyes shut as the overly loud sound of scattering rock filled the silence.  Yep, stairs would have been really handy.

Finding a foothold in dark,unfamiliar surroundings is no picnic. I inched along for what felt like hours down the ledge, feeling out the cracks and stones before placing my full weight.  Just as I thought I was getting the hang of it, I heard a rumble and felt the rocks beneath and above me begin to shake!  The ledge I was on gave way and I was falling!

I screamed as I hurtled through the darkness, prepared to meet the maker at any moment.  Suddenly, my body stopped, suspended in mid air! I slowly began to drift downward. I felt as if I were floating on a cloud. I opened my eyes as I was gently set upon the surface of the cavern floor.  A woman in lavender robes stood before me.  Her hair was red, not like my own dull red, but a bright deep red, like the paint job on a shiny new speeder.  Her deep emerald eyes stared at me from the glow lamp she carried.

“Good thing for that small rumble or I may have had to wait down here for you all night.”

“You were waiting for me?” I managed to find my voice.

“Indeed.”

“Who are you?”

“Apprentice Nuala O’Shae.”

My eyes widened in the dim light. “You are sith!  I am not going anywhere with you!” I jumped to my feet, prepared to do battle.

“Tsk,Tsk. Now is that any way to treat the girl who just saved your life? I thought Jedi were about peace.”

“What do you want Sith?”

“I have orders to take you to my master, he has need of you.”

“I am not going anywhere with you.”  I took a few steps away as I spoke. I was new to this Jedi stuff and with no armor or anything I was use to for that matter, I was no match for a Sith.  True, she saved me, but for what purpose?  Was she in league with Sinka?

“How did you find me? How do you even know who I am?”

“I have been trailing you for weeks , waiting to get you alone. How I know of you is not for me to say, it is my master you should speak to, now come! I won’t ask nicely again.”

“No. I won’t go.”

The red haired woman sighed. “I told him you would say that.” She reached out her hand and waved it slightly. “Sleep.”

The world went dark.

Responses

  1. Hi there, Mandalorian girl! ^^

    I was bloghopping and stumbled into yours. This was the first post I read, and now I want more! Hopefully you’ll continue this story soon. You sure know how to end with a cliff hanger. 😀

    Anyway, keep up the nice stories. They’re much fun to read. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

