Posted by: Natasha A. Morea | 09/18/2011

Dantooine part 1

I stared out of the ship’s view-port, as Taris rapidly grew smaller behind us. I felt Aiden’s presence as he entered the room and took a seat beside me.

“Why the somber expression, cyar’ika?”

“Just thinking about what happened back there. I was wondering if there were any survivors in the base.”

Aiden chuckled. “Well, I can’t say for certain, but one thing I do know, is that if there are any left, they will be sharing the tale of the lightsaber wielding Mandalorian girl who took down the Blade Vipers, for many years to come.”

I shook my head, a slight smile across my lips. “Well, I guess it would have made a strange sight for any on-lookers. It certainly was an unusual experience for me. How did you know that I would be able to handle it?”

Aiden tilted his head and looked at me thoughtfully for a moment. “You know the answer to that as well as I do. I don’t understand why you insist on denying the fact that you are force sensitive.”

I turned my head away from him and glanced out at the blackness of space. I felt something, I had always felt different, had always wondered where the Mandalorians had taken me from and what would have happened to me if they had not destroyed my village.

“Tell me that I am right, tell me that you do feel it.”

I sighed. “Yes, Aiden, I do feel it. I have never really known what it was exactly, I just knew that I felt different from everyone else. I saw things differently than everyone else where I grew up. I have tried so hard to push it away, to be normal; to just be the Mandalorian that I was raised to be. I don’t need to be anything else.”

“Perhaps not, but the question remains, do you want to be anything else?” Aiden sighed and reached out, placing a hand on my shoulder. “You would have been found at an early age and trained to be one of us. The Mandalorians may have raised you, but they robbed you of that chance. They took you from your home and made you what they wanted you to be. You don’t owe them anything.”

I jerked away from him, standing up and walking to the other side of the room. I turned to face him. “I owe them everything! They took me into their home, they raised me, taught me how to be a warrior and how to survive. Sure, they took me from my parents, but isn’t that the same thing the Jedi do? Don’t you come in and separate children from their families, take them far away and teach them to be what you want them to be? You are no different than the Mandos in that respect, so who are you to say I don’t owe them? Do you claim to not owe anything to the Jedi? If you don’t owe them, then why do you always go running when they call you?”

Aiden stared at me, a stunned expression on his face. “I guess I have never really thought about it in that respect, but Jedi don’t kill then children’s parents, Na’sha, and the Mandalorians killed your family. You have been one of them your whole life, but that doesn’t mean that their way is the only way, nor does it meant that being Mandalorian is all that there is to you. Let me help you, let me show you how to use your talents.”

“What is the point? I am too old to be trained. The Jedi would never recognize me as one of them, so why bother?”

“Na’sha, there are special cases where the Jedi have allowed adults to be trained, but even if they didn’t train you, I can show you things that could be useful to you. There is no need to push the Force away; embrace it! Being a Jedi does not mean that you have to be a member of the Order. To me, being a Jedi is a way of life, a system of beliefs. You can hold to the Jedi way of life and train in the ways of the Force without being a part of the Order. The Order does not make you a Jedi, the Force and how you choose to use it is what defines you as a Jedi.”

I shook my head, pacing back and forth across the room. “Aiden, we don’t have time for this; we have to find Sinka and stop her from gathering the pieces of that artifact and using it for evil purposes. Let this go.”

“Na’sha, we don’t know where she is, how many pieces there are, or what she plans to do with them. I think that it is time that we tell the Jedi Council about this.”

“Why? Sinka is my problem, the Jedi do not need to be involved.”

“My love, it has escalated to something far beyond your problem. If the Sith are involved, it is the whole galaxy’s problem and the Jedi council needs to know about it. Maybe they can help us, give us supplies or support. There is an enclave on Dantooine; I have instructed Shorcuk to take us there. The Council on that planet is in charge of Jedi in the area and two of the enclave council’s members are also on the High Council. I wish to speak to them and tell them all that has transpired. I also want them to meet you.”

I stopped pacing and stared at him. “Are you sure they will help us?”

“No I am not sure of anything at this point, but I have to try.”

“If they don’t help us, we will be wasting time and risk losing her trail.”

“I know, but we have to do this. Trust me.”

“What if they tell you to leave the mission, to leave me?”

“They won’t.”

“But they could.”

They won’t. Trust me. Trust in the Force.”

Responses

  1. […] twist, which has me eager for the next following parts. Here is a brief except from the latest, Dantooine part 1. Go check out her site and subscribe to stay up with the ongoing […]

  2. Good read. It’s Luckie

    • Thanks, Luckie. Glad you like it. Thanks for taking a look at it. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

